1 month ago

Sea Week

Huge congratulations to the fantastic Professor Rochelle Constantine who has won The Sir Peter Blake Trust environment award for her amazing work with cetaceans. So well deserved!

Faculty of Science, University of Auckland
Congratulations to Associate Professor Rochelle Constantine from the School of Biological Sciences! She has won the inaugural Sir Peter Blake Trust environment award for her work in marine research and conservation.
Associate Professor Constantine's work on a campaign to increase protections for whale populations within the Hauraki Gulf led to slower speeds for large vessels which has dramatically reduced the number of whales injured or killed by ship strike. She has been instrumental in leading a number of initiatives for expanded protection for humpback whales and Māui’s dolphin including revision of guidelines for international dolphin-watch tourism. She was also a strong advocate for the creation of a marine reserve at the Kermadec Islands.
Check out the video below to see some of Rochelle's marine research in action.
... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

CONTACT US

Different people and organisations take on regional coordination roles for Seaweek around the country.  Here’s a list of them.  Please contact them directly for information on what’s happening in your area, or if you would like to put on a local event. Alternatively contact the NZAEE office or the Seaweek National Coordinator if you’d like more general information.

For general enquiries, contact the NZAEE Seaweek National Coordinator:
Dr Mels Barton
– email: mels@subliminal.co.nz phone: 021 213 7779

REGIONAL COORDINATORS

NORTHLAND
Jordie MacDonald – email: jordiemacdonald22@gmail.com phone: 0273 548745

AUCKLAND
Mels Barton – email: mels@subliminal.co.nz  phone: 021 213 7779

WAIKATO
Coordinator needed! Please let Mels Barton know if you can help mels@subliminal.co.nz phone 021 213 7779

Maria Murphy – email: kapaimaria@hotmail.com phone: 07 260 2005 / 027 699 2001

BAY OF PLENTY
Jessyca Bernard – email: jbernard@doc.govt.nz, phone: 07 571 2730 / 027 551 8180

TAIRAWHITI – GISBORNE / EAST COAST
Trudi Ngawhare – email: tngawhare@doc.govt.nz phone: 06 869 0487

HAWKES BAY
Carol Larson – email: carol@nationalaquarium.co.nz  phone: 06 833 5424

WHANGANUI
Scotty Moore – email: smoore@doc.govt.nz

TARANAKI
Kirstin Foley – email: kirstin@wildfortaranaki.nz phone: 022 100 3364

MANAWATU – RANGITIKEI
Angelina McBrydie – email: smith.ar@xtra.co.nz phone: 06 367 3776 or 021 06 33 072

WELLINGTON
Micheline Evans – email: Micheline.evans@gw.govt.nz phone: 027 370 1534

MARLBOROUGH
Wendy Sullivan – email: wsullivan@doc.govt.nz  phone: 03 520 3016

SOUTH MARLBOROUGH
Brett Cowan- email: bcowan@doc.govt.nz

NELSON
Kath Inwood – email: kainwood@doc.govt.nz Ph 03 546 3151

WEST COAST
Rachel Norton (Haast) – email: rnorton@doc.govt.nz phone: 03 750 0806

Lauren Kelley (Greymouth) – email: lkelley@doc.govt.nz phone: 027 312 4687

CHRISTCHURCH and CANTERBURY
Jocelyn Papprill – email: Jocelyn.Papprill@ecan.govt.nz phone: 027 703 0772

OTAGO
Coordinator needed! Please let Mels Barton know if you can help mels@subliminal.co.nz phone 021 213 7779

Tessa Mills – email: tessa.mills@otago.ac.nz phone: 03 479 5845

SOUTHLAND
Coordinator needed! Please let Mels Barton know if you can help mels@subliminal.co.nz phone 021 213 7779

NATIONAL PROGRAMME MANAGER
Pam Crisp – phone: 04 471 0726

NZAEE national office:
31 Galbraith Street Waihi 3610, New Zealand
nzaeecontact@gmail.com

t-shirt_pic

Latest News

NZAEE Seaweek 2018 ‘Ocean Champion’ Winner Announced

NZAEE Seaweek 2018 ‘Ocean Champion’ Winner Announced

  NZAEE Seaweek is delighted to announce that the NZAEE Seaweek “Ocean Champion” for 2018 is Experiencing Marine Reserves founding Director Samara Nicholas. Samara is currently in the Kermedecs with the Sir Peter Blake Trust. The New Zealand Coastal Society (NZCS) is sponsoring the initiative by donating the equivalent of $500 prize money towards the… Read More

Thanks To Our Sponsors

  • Seaweek 2016 sponsors

1 month ago

Sea Week

Huge congratulations to the fantastic Professor Rochelle Constantine who has won The Sir Peter Blake Trust environment award for her amazing work with cetaceans. So well deserved!

Faculty of Science, University of Auckland
Congratulations to Associate Professor Rochelle Constantine from the School of Biological Sciences! She has won the inaugural Sir Peter Blake Trust environment award for her work in marine research and conservation.
Associate Professor Constantine's work on a campaign to increase protections for whale populations within the Hauraki Gulf led to slower speeds for large vessels which has dramatically reduced the number of whales injured or killed by ship strike. She has been instrumental in leading a number of initiatives for expanded protection for humpback whales and Māui’s dolphin including revision of guidelines for international dolphin-watch tourism. She was also a strong advocate for the creation of a marine reserve at the Kermadec Islands.
Check out the video below to see some of Rochelle's marine research in action.
... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook